Forum: CDO Mission and Vision


On November 9, 2021, the Data Coalition and data experts. hosted a virtual public forum to discuss the mission, focus areas, and vision of the federal Chief Data Officer (CDO) community. The forum provided an opportunity for the data community to offer feedback, recommendations, and advice to the federal CDO Council, which is seeking public feedback in its recent Request for Information

The CDO role and the federal CDO Council were established by the Foundations for Evidence-Based Policymaking Act (Evidence Act) in 2019. Since that time, CDOs have been working to implement the Evidence Act and supporting the Federal Data Strategy. The RFI published in October 2021 seeks feedback on specific questions related to the data workforce, data inventories, data sharing in government and the private sector, data value, ethics, equity, and technology.

Individuals from industry, academia, non-profits, state and local governments, and the general public participated in the event as speakers or attendees. Feedback gathered during this public forum will be provided as an input to the CDO Council’s RFI and made publicly available. 







1:00 p.m. Opening Remarks: Nick Hart, President, Data Foundation


1:05 p.m. Keynote: Kshemendra Paul, Chief Data Officer, Department of Veterans Affairs


1:20 p.m. Group A: 

  1. Alex Howard, The Digital Democracy Project
  2. Quinn Chasan, Google Cloud
  3. Michael Anderson, Informatica 


1:50 p.m. Group B:

  1. Sherry Bennett, DLT Solutions
  2. Talal Said, Hyperscience
  3. Owen Ambur, StratML Committee


2:20 p.m. Group C: 

  1. Gerard Valerio, Tableau, a Salesforce Company
  2. Ange Marius Uwurukundo, EADILER
  3. Robert Audet, Guidehouse
  4. Robert Han, Elder Research


3:00 p.m. Break


3:05 p.m. Group D: 

  1. Lindsey Marchessault, Open Contracting Partnership
  2. Campbell Pryde, XBRL US
  3. David Corliss, Peace-Work


3:35 p.m. Group E: 

  1. Tyler Kleykamp, Beeck Center-Georgetown University/State Chief Data Officers Network
  2. David Stringfellow, State of Utah


3:55 p.m. Group F: 

  1. Andrew Churchill, Qlik
  2. Sean McKitrick, MSCHE
  3. Patrick McGarry,


4:25 p.m. Concluding Remarks: Nick Hart, President, Data Foundation



Title Sponsor